Skip to:ContentBottom

About The Blue Mountains

The Blue Mountains City Council recognizes the land on which the City of Blue Mountains is situated as the traditional territories of the Darug and Gundungurra Nations.

Our city is made up of 27 charming towns and villages along a 100km stretch of mountainous landscape. The Blue Mountains local government area spans 1,431km², with 70% being part of the World Heritage National Park and only 11% designated for settlement. As of 2021, the Blue Mountains is home to almost 80,000 residents.

With breathtaking natural beauty and abundant cultural heritage, the Blue Mountains draws millions of visitors from across Australia and the world, making it a sought-after tourist destination. If you're planning a visit, be sure to check out our Blue Mountains City Tourism website for helpful information and resources.