Skip to:ContentBottom

About The Blue Mountains

Blue Mountains City Council acknowledges that the City of Blue Mountains is located on the traditional lands of the Darug and Gundungurra Nations.

The Blue Mountains local government area comprises of 27 character-filled towns & villages spread along 100km of mountainous terrain.

Our City covers an area of 1,431km² with 70% comprising World Heritage National Park with approximately only 11% available for settlement. The current resident population for the Blue Mountains is currently at over 78,000.

A place of great natural beauty and rich cultural resources, the Blue Mountains attracts millions of visitors from throughout Australia and the world, making it one of the more popular tourist destinations in Australia. Information for visitors can be found on our Blue Mountains City Tourism